Presidio of San Francisco

04Jul16

I never traveled much until I went away to college. Up to that point it was a couple of family car trips to the Rocky Mountains and South Dakota.

And outside of our honeymoon – we went to Hot Springs, Ark. – I had never really been on vacation or paid for a trip on my own.

That changed when in April 1985 I flew with my wife Carole to the City by the Bay for a few days of rest and relaxation. Carole was attending a conference for work but I had my entire time to spend exclusively exploring San Francisco. So what to do?

One of the first things I did was hop into my rental car and go to the Golden Gate Bridge. Nearby I drove through a section of San Francisco that is not only an army base, but a National Park Service site.

The Presidio of San Francisco offers both history and natural beauty regardless if you are walking or driving. The architecture is magnificent. There are almost 800 buildings in on the military base with over half of these historical structures. The buildings range from elegant officers’ quarters and barracks to large, industrial warehouses and administrative units.

Inside the Presidio is a network of 24 miles of hiking and biking trails with overlooks of the city and bay seemingly around every corner. A portion of one of the trails also gives you an overlook of the awe-inspiring national cemetery.

The Presidio of San Francisco is a unique place and one I could go back to time after time.



No Responses Yet to “Presidio of San Francisco”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment