Favorite Re-enactors Photos

11Sep19

wilsonscreek51a

Anytime I go to a national historic site and see someone dressed up from the time period depicted, I know this is going to be a worthwhile trip. Not just because the photos are better, but also because the re-enactors for the most part really know their stuff.

Their interaction with park visitors and themselves are always photo worthy. It doesn’t matter if the re-enactors are giving a demonstration or just sitting around chatting among themselves.

Here, in no particular order, are some of my favorite re-enactor photos in the national parks.

These were taken several years back at the 150th anniversary of the Wilson’s Creek National Battlefield. Unlike many of the re-enactments I’ve been to, this one actually staged a battle (top photo and below) where these photos come from.

wilsonscreek50a

wilsonscreek38a

On my return trip to Wilson’s Creek I ran across a group of re-enactors again, this time just sitting around shooting the breeze.

wilsons28a

Staying with the Civil War, both times I’ve visited the Gettysburg National Military Park I have encountered re-enactors. The first time was at an artillery demonstration.

gettysburg4a

This gentleman – I assume he was a park ranger – was great at visiting with tourists like myself.

gettysburg43a

gettysburg38a

I made an impromptu stop at Bent’s Old Fort National Historic Site in Colorado on the way back from Las Vegas several summers ago. The 1840s was brought to life at the old trading post on “Living History Encampment” weekend. I spent more time with the re-enactors than I did actually touring the historic site.

bentreenactors13

bentreenactors10

bentreenactors6

For some reason I’ve been at the right place at the right time when re-enactors give shooting demonstrations. The first was at the Guilford Courthouse National Military Park where the park ranger on duty warned me not to get in front of the rifles.  

guilford1a

The next time came at Fort Matanzas National Monument just as I walked up to the visitor center. This was actually only shot, I got of this demonstration as they wrapped it up just after I took this image.

mantanzas5a

When I was in Boston for the 4th of July, I heard a re-enactor read the Declaration of Independence.

oldnorthchurch4a

Finally, the only photo to feature women came at the Lincoln Home National Historic Site. These ladies weren’t on duty yet but I love how they are in the foreground of Lincoln’s home.

lincoln35a



No Responses Yet to “Favorite Re-enactors Photos”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment