Apostle Islands National Lakeshore

27Nov22

My experience with the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore is very limited.

Carole and I traveled to Bayfield, Wis., about three decades ago with the sole purpose of staying at a bed and breakfast that was featured in the magazine Midwest Living

But while we were enjoying the creature comforts of the Old Rittenhouse Inn, parts of the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore beckoned us. 

The park headquarters and visitor center for the national lakeshore is located in Bayfield and we took a short ferry ride from the town to Madeline Island, the largest island in the area, although not technically a part of the park.

The islands that are included in the park are north of Madeline Island in Lake Superior and have names such as Hermit Island, Cat Island, Bear Island, Rocky Island, Raspberry Island and Otter Island. I’m guessing there are lots of cats on Cat Island, otters inhabit Otter Island and you can find a raspberry or two on Raspberry Island.

But since I haven’t been to any of these islands I can’t confirm those assumptions, just like I don’t think there are any hermits living in the wilds of Hermit Island. And who would know anyway? They’re hermits.

Kayaking is evidently the way to truly see the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore. There is no way I was kayaking when we visited the park in the mid-‘80s. First I can’t swim and I didn’t even know what kayaking was back then.

There are many other things to do in the Apostle Islands. There are more than 50 miles of hiking trails and fishing and boating opportunities abound.

Cruises are offered to some of the islands. Carole and I took one, although it was out to Madeline Island where we walked around for a bit, got back on the ferry and headed back to Bayfield. 

So much for my journey to the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore.



No Responses Yet to “Apostle Islands National Lakeshore”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment