2022 Photos That Didn’t Make My Top 10

11Dec22

When you travel to as many national park sites as I do every year, you are bound to take a few photos.

In reality, each year I take thousands of images and to weed them down to just a top 10 is extremely difficult. Here are a few other shots, in no particular order, which I’m proud of but that didn’t make my final cut.

I’ll start out first at Gettysburg National Military Park with a pair of photos taken just yards apart on this massive battlefield. I had stopped at the Pennsylvania Memorial and happened to run across this concrete sculpture of a calvary man on houseback. But I really enjoyed my time just across the road where I watched a group of re-enactors going through drills (photo at the top).

People are a big part of my top 10 photos this year and wildlife also is highlighted, including these fascinating birds at Cumberland Island National Seashore who were more interested in the scene around them than what was in the water.

Most of the following images were taken, not with my large SLR camera, but with my iPhone. I have found the camera on this device to be very efficient and I tend to use it a lot more than the earlier model I had.

There’s lots to see at the Golden Spike National Historical Park but the highlight has to be the historic locomotives on display. The engines are brought from their “homes” to the visitor center and the spectacle keeps getting better every time I witness it. This year I could have chosen any number of photos of the locomotives in action but I opted for this shot with the trains butted up next to each other.

On my previous visit to the Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve in Kansas I was fascinated with the one-room schoolhouse that sits within the park’s boundaries. Again, I could have selected a half a dozen photos to include in this entry, but this one showing the structure up against the beautiful blue sky makes the list.

I sure do love the wide angle on my iPhone. The wide angle was perfect in demonstrating just how big the fort is at Castillo de San Marcos National Monument in Florida.

The wide angle and the beautiful clouds were the reason I included this photo at the Casa Grande Ruins National Monument just outside of Phoenix and this shot at City of Rocks National Reserve in Idaho.

Vegetation of any kind seems to find its way into many of my photos. Such was the case at the Cedar Creek and Belle Grove Plantation National Historical Park in Virginia. By placing the flower in the foreground, I was able to also showcase the historic structure in the background.

Lighthouses are one of my favorite things to visit and photograph and this year is no different. A different lighthouse makes my top 10 list next week and this photo from the Lewis and Clark National Historical Park just missed out. For this photo I particularly enjoyed the contrast with the Pacific Ocean.

That’s it for this blog. Come back next week when I reveal my top 10 national park photos of the year.



No Responses Yet to “2022 Photos That Didn’t Make My Top 10”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment